DAY 16:  Have you ever bonded with someone IRL over infertility, even just for a few minutes?  It could be a family member, friend, neighbor, or even the clerk at the grocery store who noticed you OPK and vitamin purchase.  Tell the story.

At a neighborhood block party last July, I met a couple of women in a similar boat, where we all half jokingly complained about how unfair it was to be stuck in this situation. Since then, one has gotten pregnant and two of us have not.

DAY 17:  If you could have 3 wishes, what would they be?

  • To get pregnant, like, yesterday.
  • To be in a financial situation that would allow us to fix some things in our home and allow me to work part time with our child
  • To have a happy, healthy family

DAY 18:  What is your favorite infertility-related quote?  It doesn’t have to be explicitly related to infertility, but one that means something to your personal journey.

This is actually a running quote, but I believe fits well here: “I don’t stop when I’m tired, I stop when I’m done”

DAY 19:  List 5 pet peeves.

  • slow drivers
  • talking on the cell phone in the check out line (I have no idea why but this drives me bonkers)
  • people who say they are going to do something, and then don’t
  • Messes
  • Disrespect

DAY 20:  Were you a product of infertility?\

No.

DAY 21:  List 5 guilty pleasures.

  • Dr Phil
  • I downloaded the latest Justin Beiber song on my Ipod (I know, I know)
  • Draw Something/Words with Friends
  • Naps
  • Eating dessert for dinner

DAY 22:  How has your financial situation affected your infertility journey?

The better question is, how hasn’t it? Any extra money I spend makes me wonder if I should save instead.  If we had insurance coverage or could afford multiple attempts, we would have done an IVF procedure already. As it stands though, we have enough money for one, which is why it has been put off multiple times at this point. If I’m going to throw that much money into a 65% chance, I feel like I need to try everything else. Plus, God only knows why, but we are still holding on to some hope of a natural BFP so that we can use the money on house improvements (and a freaking vacation!) instead.

DAY 23:  Put your iPod on shuffle.  List the first 10 songs that play.

  • My Chemical Romance – The Black Parade
  • Green Day -Burnout
  • Evanescense – Lose Control
  • Britney Spears – Kill the Lights
  • Savage Garden – To the Moon and Back
  • J LO feat Pitbull – Dance Again
  • No Doubt – Sunday Morning
  • Highland – La Varita
  • Muse – Thoughts of a Dying Atheist

DAY 24:  Does your religion (or lack of) help/hurt/affect your infertility journey?  Have you found religion?  Lost it?  Does it affect what treatments you do?

I’ve always thought that infertility would cause me to turn away from God and religion, but strangely it has brought me closer. I find myself praying more than I have before, for things like strength, patience, and of course, pregnancy.

DAY 25:  What was your first baby or pregnancy-related purchase you ever made?  Was it before or after you started trying to conceive?  Or was it after you were already pregnant?  Why did you choose that particular item to buy first?  If you haven’t purchased anything yet, why not?

We bought a changing table from a neighbor selling it at a yard sale. We actually have a crib and glider as well that another neighbor was selling. It was such a good deal we couldn’t pass it up!

DAY 26:  Post a picture of something that makes you happy.

DAY 27:  What do you use the “nursery” for right now?

Spare Bedroom.

DAY 28:  Have you ever done something “non-traditional” in order to help you conceive?

I tried “fertility massage”once.

Day 29:  What is your favorite book?

I don’t have one favorite to be honest. But my favorite author is Jodi Picoult.

DAY 30:  After a month of infertility talk, we need a distraction.  Give us a link to one of your favorite non-infertility-sites, or tell us about your favorite distraction activity/book/feel-good movie.

Words with Friends 🙂

