This week was the final week of the “Build Phase” and, in my book, marks another big training milestone – we are 2/3rds of the way through! One more week and we are in the single digit countdown. It also means training time goes up, and time for just about anything else (blogging included) goes down.

Monday – run/swim. 45 minute run/4.61 miles/9:46 average/79 degrees I cut my run a bit short because I was planning a big swim. I’ve been having issues with my allergies and asthma the last couple weeks (I think the rain is to blame) and today was no exception. I was supposed to do 4×5 min intervals and per usual they got slower as I went. I finally felt better able to breathe 40 minutes into my 45. Go figure. 77 minute swim/3000 meters. The plan calls for 2 3000 meter straight swims during the build phase and I never managed any so I figured I’d do at least one. Luckily, I found my waterproof iPod while helping my sister move and that kept me from going crazy. It was slow but I didn’t stop (that’s what she said?). I know I just used this meme, but its appropriate for how I felt afterwards.

Screen Shot 2016-08-04 at 6.53.33 PM

Tuesday ride. 60 minute ride/18.3 miles/18.3 Mph/82 degrees. The interval attempts here were an epic fail. It called for 8x 4 minutes and not only could I just not get my heart rate up for long, the timing of them was bad. I ran into many points where I needed to slow down or turn around and so eventually I just said screw it.

Wednesday swim/run. 60 minute swim/2500 yards. I had some company on this dark dark swim this time and that was nice. 60 minute run with 10 minutes 1 lap fast/1 lap slow./6.12 miles/9:48 average/86 degrees. Still warm, but it finally didn’t feel like the seventh level of hell outside so I joined the track this week. The change of scenery was nice.

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 7.30.47 PM

Thursday long run. 2 hour run/11.25 miles/10:40 average/77 degrees. OH MY GOD WHERE IS FALL?!?!? So I started this run at 7 am and ran till 9 which made this even more difficult. I drank 16 oz of nuun, a 20 oz bottle of gatorade and 8 more ounces when I got home and was still dehydrated. And slow. And man I forgot how difficult a 2 hour run can, be especially when it feels like  90 by the time you’re done.

Friday ride/run quick change. 45 minute trainer ride/8.8 miles (slow as shit). 15 minute run/1.58 miles/9:32 average/75 degrees. I think my body is going to forget how to run faster.

Saturday  rest day. Took twins to birthday party. Yay for cake!

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 7.30.57 PM

Sunday long ride. 4 hour ride/74.58 miles/18.1 MPH/73 degrees This ride, thankfully, felt a little easier than the last one. I wasn’t as tired the last few miles, and I wasn’t as tired afterwards.

Total Time: 12 hours 13 minutes

Miles Traveled: 128.5

Training Thoughts: Actually, I feel proud of myself this week.