Ugh, lets just call this week the week of the viral plague. On Sunday Bryan texted me to say Miles woke up covered in puke and, well, you know. From then on things only got more interesting, as he was sick from basically Sunday to Thursday and Bryan caught it Wednesday and is STILL sick. I have seen, heard or talked about more bodily fluids in the last 7 days than I ever care to, EVER.

Monday – 5 miles @8:22, and negative splits to boot. Bryan was still well at this point so took over sick duty so I could go out for a bit.

TuesdayΒ – rest day

Wednesday – Yoga and 2 miles on treadmill @9:13/mile. It’s bad, I know, but I do NOT do well with vomit. After 3 days of that or the other (use your creativity here), I was already frazzled and starting to panic that I’d get sick. I almost did stress and anxiety yoga, but picked a shorter one instead. By the end of the day I was so stressed from the whining and general household unhappiness (because by this time Bryan wasn’t feeling well either) that I killed a couple miles on the treadmill after everyone went to bed.

Thursday: 4 miles speed work on treadmill. I kept Miles home with me for half the day. 1 mile warm up @8:49. 4×400 @7:03 with 4×400 recovery @8:49. 1×800 @6:40 (hey frustration works in my favor sometimes) and 800m cool down @8:49.

Friday:Β 30 minutes of yoga again after everyone went to bed. Miles was on the mend but still not happy, and so I tried to channel my inner zen again after everyone went to bed. I should add this yoga focused on detoxing poses – not sure if that helps or not.

Saturday 3 mile walk. Β Bryan was in bed sick all day, and I was still in a tizzy, so the twins and I went for a long walk.

Sunday 8 miles @7:55 average. The plan was more a tempo and I wanted to make the middle three miles the fastest. I tried for a 10k post baby pr but didn’t quite make it. I slowed down on mile 7 and then realized I could finish with an under 8:00 mile average so I sped up again πŸ™‚

Total Miles: 22

So with 5 days to race day, I’m praying I stay healthy. I.cannot.get.sick. CANNOT. HAPPEN. I’ve banished myself the to the guest room and washed or sanitized my hands like a fiend.

Anyway, now for the fun part. For those of you who followed and/or participated in my Jord Watch giveaway, we have a winner!

The winner is Bethany Nelson! Keep an eye out for an email Bethany and thanks to everyone who entered!

Hopefully my next recap will come after I’ve crossed the finish line! Please send healthy vibes!

